Cartoon: “Efficiency”

This cartoon is composed of four pages,

each of which bears a caption at the bottom of the page.

What, weighting scores?

Andrea’s Buzzing About: “Efficiency” A female Geek and older female User are seated at a desk, where the Geek is giving the User some instruction in how to use a program. A male Techie stops by the door. Geek to User: "... so you need to set up a user file with the ID 'foo@farble'; save that before moving onto the next step. --Yes?" Techie to Geek: "Here is the report doc." Geek to Techie: "Did the update load?" Techie replies: "Good-for-go with 3.0; included in the backup." Geek replies: "Excellent, thank you." The Techie leaves without further ado. Geek continues to User: "Now, the next step is to set up the database; you can do this with weighted or unweighted scores, the former being used for --" User: "How rude!" Geek: "What, weighting scores?"



Of course not, we are busy working.  He was just dropping off what I'd asked for.

User: "No, him. Wasn't that just so rude of him?" Geek: "Um ... I did not find him rude." User: "But he just walked right in here without saying 'Hello' or anything!" Geek: "We all said 'Hello' to each other when we came in this morning." User: "But he didn't stop to chat!" Geek: "Of course not, we are busy working. He was just dropping off what I'd asked for."

But he just left without saying thank-you or anything!

User: "Don't you find it kinda weird-like that he didn't tell you anything else? I thought several of them computer people were working on ... whatever things." Geek: "He told me what I asked him. I'm not worried about which techs were doing what; that's their job." User: "But he just walked out!" Geek: Of course. "We were done." User: "But he just left without saying thank-you or anything!"

No, I can't say that I have.

Geek: "I thanked him; why would he thank me for thanking him? Now, you can set up the database by recording the scores daily, weekly, or by project --" User: "Well, I still think he was rude! He didn't even chit-chat with me." Geek: "I find him quite polite. He told me what I needed to know, without wasting my time, or interrupting us unnecessarily. He was efficient; I like that." User: "Have you ever noticed that he doesn't really look you in the eye when he's talking to you?" Geek: "No, I can't say that I have."

7 Comments

  1. unashamed said,

    31 August 2008 at 17:28

    I like that. Similar things happen to me. That said, I was trying to figure out what was rude about weighted scores before I finished reading the rest.

  2. 23 July 2008 at 5:38

    […] This is a drawing kindly provided by “Andrea” from “Andrea’s Buzzing Around:.” If only I could draw like “that.” […]

  3. Anna said,

    17 July 2008 at 3:30

    If you ever DID want to add faces for some strange reason, I can show you how to keep them consistent mathematically. I had to figure this out just cuz I can’t really draw, but it works.

    I didn’t realize that was facial hair! I thought he was wearing an antique dental appliance. Why that comes to mind instead of the much more obvious beard, idk.

  4. Maddy said,

    17 July 2008 at 2:41

    Very impressive [drawing!!!] and very funny……….I think we’re immune to ‘rude’ around here.
    Cheers

  5. 17 July 2008 at 1:32

    :D

    i like it

  6. qw88nb88 said,

    16 July 2008 at 15:15

    Actually, I draw hands much better than anything else! The original was too small to do the hands very well.

    This is a “prosopagnosic” cartoon, which means that I did not include faces to distinguish the different people. I do a pretty good job on faces, but for some reason I have trouble getting the faces to look like the same people from one panel to the next. :: wink ::

    The techie does indeed have a ponytail, and a beard as well. (Techie can’t stand getting haircuts.)

    As for the pen & pencil-holding cup with the apple, what attention to detail! User is a school teacher (Mac apples have a bite taken out of them).

    andrea

  7. Anna said,

    16 July 2008 at 6:31

    Your ability to draw hands = ZOMG.

    Does the techie have a wavy ponytail

    OR

    are those USB cords flowing from skull, as he is actually an android programmed without that pointless Friendlies b.s? (Jk, jk)

    Also I like the little apple. :)