Bugs in the System

I’m exhausted and permanently chilled, dunno why; hopefully I’m not coming down with some “bug”. But here are some great images from around the Web:

Bug Dreams has a fabulous closeup-shot, partially described as, “A Sawfly larva dwarfs an adult fly in this demonstration of a Vulcan mind meld.”

I can haz LOL Invertebrates? The ROFLBee makes me smile every time!

The Royal Mail has just put out a new series of ten stamps, with gorgeous insects on them.  One of the purchases even entitles you to 2-for-1 tickets to the upcoming butterfly exhibit at the Natural History Museum in London. (Please, someone go and enjoy it for me, because I can’t afford to go abroad, so even mere philately is beyond my means.)

Meanwhile, here’s a recent shot from my garden, a multicolored Asian Lady Beetle (Coleoptera: Coccinellidae Harmonia axyridis).  This is an exotic species introduced in the 1970s for biological control of aphids and scale.  That must be hard work, as this one appears to be sleeping on my bag.

ZzzzZzzzzz

4 Comments

  1. 28 February 2009 at 19:37

    […] enlightens us about the bee fly. – Is a bee, known ROTFL…………..Andrea tells us of the ROFLbee from my favorite site, LOLinverts. 20. Moth with big cute eyes; furry; with […]

  2. 20 April 2008 at 12:44

    nice :)

    Heini loved this :D

  3. 20 April 2008 at 11:04

    If the Royal mail concentrated on delivering letter on time instead of designing and selling fancy stamps it wouldn’t be a bad thing.

    In my youth they could do both and the price of delivery (no first and second class then) was three old pence, about 1p today, and what is more three old pence was a twelve sided solid brass coin, not what passes for coinage these days.

    http://tinyurl.com/4kct6p

  4. fridawrites said,

    20 April 2008 at 3:19

    Cute little buggie!