Plaint of the Aspie

Standing alone and unmoved,
The crowd swarms around me.
Don’t stare at me; I can’t stare at you.
I hear the words but miss the message;
Your silent meanings mock me.
Stumbling over the social graces,
Trying to remember the nameless faces.
Speaking my native tongue in accent;
Missing jokes, clobbered by punchlines.

 

Are not my tears and blood salt of this earth?

 

I tried so hard, failing ever and again.
Tried to bang out of my head
The taunts that carved up my heart.
But in the end, nothing ever changed.
Too many signs and labels
Swarm about me in multiplicity.
You think they create reality;
Drawing lines is how you define
Who you are and what is real.

 

We are deemed aliens, and yet your brethren.

 

Do not discount the misunderstood.
See! We are making re-visions,
Re-ordering disorder with grace.
Thinking outside the narrow boxes
We could never fit into anyway.
For I will resist when they insist
That only average is normal;
And I will refuse when they accuse
That different is defective!

4 Comments

  1. qw88nb88 said,

    9 April 2007 at 23:43

    Greetings:

    Thank you for your comments. This material is copyrighted, and may be linked to as a URL address, but may not be reproduced for commercial purposes.

    Although autistics deal with some different issues in their lives, I do not believe that being autistic is by necessity a “devastating disorder”, nor is it “disease” that needs to be fought or cured, nor even that there is an “epidemic” of autism. Many of the issues faced by autistics are not intrinsic — they are artificial handicaps, those created by society in how people understand and accept and work with one another. This post is a complaint not about being autistic, but being autistic in a society that is unaccepting of such.

    To gain a better understanding of the diversity thoughts expressed in this blog, please read this posting:

    Centenary Retrospective

    cheers,
    andrea

  2. 6 April 2007 at 20:50

    Hi Andrea

    I came across your poem quite by accident today when I googleed non-verbal communication to find information for my newsletter.My fifteen year old daughter is also an Aspie and reading your poem gave me an insight into how she is feeling about the outside world better than anything that I have yet to come across. This being Autism Awareness month the topic for our newsletter for all of April is autism and autism spectrum disorders.

    Cassie and I would be honoured if we could put your poem in one of our newsletters this month. Please email me and let me know if that would be OK.

    Your poem is amazing and insightful and I think our reader would really love it.

    All the best Monicka and Cassie

  3. chrisfiore5 said,

    31 December 2006 at 20:48

    just a random hit, andrea… hope you have a great new year. peace.

  4. natalia said,

    28 December 2006 at 19:29

    Will you consider submitting this here [LINK]? I think it could belong…