Annoying froms full of wee boxes

So, hat’s my problem wilth filling out forms? “Sure, no one’s fond of it, but it’s not that bad. Just sit down and get it done already.”

Sometimes it’s the essential tremour that makes handwriting shaky.

Someone tell me: WHY are the boxes so damn small?

Then there’s visually tracking back and froth between my pages of information and where data goes into the form. There can be column slippage: No, I don’t have 268 sweaters valued at $10. That would be quite a feat! (I hope none are the ugly Christmas sort. Then again, with 286, who cares?)

Some days it’s reading them form.

That floater smack-bad in the middle of of my left focal point has been there several years. I can mostly work around that.
But there are the days when I’m having semi-dyslexic issues.
Like today when I’m filling out a shipping form, and their Sports Equipment* list includes:
Goll Chubs
Brow Bonads
Winq Suder
Stakes
Tannins

Which often goes ahnd in hand with writing the numbers. I can read a large percentage correctly and those I know them in my head straight, but when saying or writing them they get turned inside out; 5600 is 650, or 277 is 227.

Oh sure, Just. Fill. It. Out.
Then I check it forwards. And I chcek it backwards.

QUESTION: What sort of strategies do you use?

* Those are Golf Clubs, Snow Boards, Wind Surfer, Skates, and Tennis

3 Comments

  1. 6 July 2017 at 17:14

    Andrea, your blog is currently included on our Actually Autistic Blogs List (anautismobserver.wordpress.com). Please click on the “How do you want your blog listed?” link at the top of that site to personalize your blog’s description.
    Thank you.
    Judy (An Autism Observer)

  2. 14 May 2017 at 15:06

    The only ones I got were the golf clubs and skates, the rest were a mystery to me too. I’m not a sufferer with the words, but the numbers frequently dance around for me, or more likely columns never add up twice the same way, and differing breakdowns of the same numbers that should nevertheless give the same total, never do.

    • andrea said,

      14 May 2017 at 15:35

      Boy do I know that dancing number thing! Some jitter and some slip.

      And whilst I can identify single notes, “That’s a b-flat”, a whole sheet of music just turns into a swarming anthill. And that’s the simpler stuff, nevermind concert stuff.


Leave a Reply

