Stupid Irony!

Someone defined poetry as “life condensed”.  Sometimes I think that disability is life magnified.  Today’s lens is Irony:

  • I dropped my reaching tool behind the bed where I … struggled to reach it.
  • Forgot to take my ADHD meds.
  • Was too stiff to pull on my elastics:  the wrap for my elbow, the two pads for my knees, and the fingertip-less gloves.
  • Nearly in too much pain to remove the child-safe cap from the arthritis medicine.
  • Couldn’t see to find the wee screw that holds in the lens to my eyeglasses.
  • (Similarly,  when my ex-husband couldn’t hear his hearing aid squealing.)
  • Couldn’t understand the voice-mail reminding me of a follow-up visit with the audiologist.
  • Being unsure if that noise I heard in the audiologist’s testing booth was one of the test tones, or my tinnitus.
  • Asked a random store clerk to open the box and unpeel a bandage wrapper so I could stop the bleeding of yet another torn cuticle and pay for said bandages.
  • Sat on the grocery floor because I’d forgotten to wear my knee pads that day, and had to stock boxes of aspirin and arthritis meds.
  • When discussing my difficulties with social interactions with a counselor and mentioned that I thought I was missing things, I was unable to tell just what it was that I was not catching!

And so on, and so on.  Feel free to add some of your own!

13 Comments

  1. Ceredwyn Alexander said,

    12 February 2011 at 15:32

    I just discovered this blog and I feel like you’ve been blogging from the inside of my head!

    No wonder it’s been so crowded. :-)

    • andrea said,

      15 February 2011 at 5:15

      We’re all here for you! :-)

  2. psychtld said,

    1 December 2010 at 6:22

    “Having to go on line to relearn algebra so I can help my child with her homework and having to say yes when she asks me that all time classic question, ‘Will I ever use this in my life?'”

    I’m reminded here of Billy Connolly’s outburst about algebra:

    “Why did we have to learn algebra? I’m pretty sure I’m never gonnae go there!”

    Thing is, though, that algebra is useful in everyday life – even though that might seem counter-intuitive. But the situations for this are rarely discussed in maths classes. Which is a huge pity, really.

  3. Halcyon said,

    18 November 2010 at 14:33

    Having to go on line to relearn algebra so I can help my child with her homework and having to say yes when she asks me that all time classic question, “Will I ever use this in my life?”

  4. Lilly Abbott said,

    21 October 2010 at 16:45

    I know how much they suffer when discapcitado, I’ve been sitting in a wheelchair for 3 years by a bad move and I hurt my lower back and now I can not stand, I’m in rehab and the only thing I take to relieve this pain is vicodin, because the doctor prescribed me because the pain is very strong and I can not, for now fend for myself.

    Lilly Abbott.
    Findrxonline

  5. diddums said,

    9 October 2010 at 16:39

    Good one. :-) That squealing hearing aid annoyed me a lot (as a user), and I would go around with it turned right down so that it wouldn’t embarrass me in front of people.

    About not knowing what you’re missing, sometimes you find that out a lot later (or a little later) when something happens that you weren’t expecting. And you say “but I thought…” and everyone else says “but we thought we told you, and you said yes!”
    Me: “I said yes to the part about the such-and-such… I didn’t hear the other bit.”

    I wonder if part of the solution is to ask people to only make one point at a time. ;-)

    • 10 October 2010 at 1:10

      I have that same problem of “but I promise you I didn’t say yes when you asked if your friend with the tear-out-my-hair annoying wife could spend our tenth anniversary with us because you never asked that!”

      My (sort of ) solution has been to train the people I deal with regularly that if they are discussing something important with me, they need to hear me repeat it back to them in my own words before they accept that the message has been delivered and received.

      Likewise, I make others repeat back to me what they think I have said when it’s something important. It annoys people sometimes, but I remind them how much more annoying it would be if we all thought we understood what was going to happen but had completely different “understandings.” Then the grumblers usually admit the wisdom and repeat back what I said.

      It doesn’t always work because it does depend on others being willing and remembering to ask me to repeat what they have said. Although I do usually echo things back to people in an effort to make sure I’m understanding what they’re saying. Especially when it sounds like they said something like, “I move the chevy garden to the hose center.” (Which is about how much sense conversation can make to me on some days.)

      • andrea said,

        23 October 2010 at 17:00

        Precisely! Responding with a repeat or re-phrasing of what [you think] someone said is a very good way of ensuring that everyone understands each other.

        Repeating the request also helps me remember the details better, especially when more than one thing is involved. With the auditory processing blips, so much of my short-term memory is used for decoding what is been said that there is not much left for temporary storage. Both saying and hearing my self say the instructions gives my brain some extra routes to retrieve the information.

        My problem is that although I remember to repeat/rephrase most of the time when I am having trouble “just hearing” what’s being said (due to the dreaded background noise plus tinnitus), I usually don’t think to do this when I am really having trouble “just understanding” but believe I am sure of what is being said.

        This school year I’m a para with a different teacher, and sometimes her ways of phrasing requests is rather different; I must seem daft when I don’t understand what she means. (Especially because most of her requests are regarding mundane tasks like copying page sets, filing, grading, and sorting out who is doing what with which student.) We’re both getting better at communication, but it has been professionally frustrating for both of us.

  6. biblomom said,

    1 October 2010 at 5:24

    I’m walking through the house, talking on my phone, telling my friend that I’m *looking* for my phone so I can take a picture of something … That, or I finally resort to attempting to call my own phone – with the phone I was looking for. Maybe I would have seen it if it wasn’t in my hand.

  7. 18 September 2010 at 22:51

    My middle-school algebra teacher picked a fight with me out of the blue, telling me I was argumentative. (Sure, I probably was in general, but not at that particular moment!)

  8. Miles said,

    29 August 2010 at 21:01

    i always get into fights with my parents because i lie a lot.. and im thinking CAPD is part of why this is happening.

  9. kathleen said,

    25 August 2010 at 1:02

    I was driving home..and suddenly realized I had forgotten where I had put my car keys..as I was driving…sigh..I frequently forget where I put my glasses down..and yet I need my glasses to look for them..

  10. Jeni said,

    23 August 2010 at 5:13

    Catch 22 all round. I know how this can go.
    When my mother returned from Sri Lanka to Wales, she was told that the reason she wasn’t getting any teaching jobs was because ‘her book wasn’t in the county’. (This was in the 60s.) When she asked how to get her ‘book into the county’, she was told that she needed to get a job, then only would it be sent.
    When I entered the job market at 19, I was overqualified for everything that I wasn’t underqualified for. When it came to jobs that didn’t require qualifications, I either lacked experience, or I was the wrong sex. (Needs to be able to lift 50lb and work without a shirt during hot weather!)


Leave a Reply

