Thieves!

Grocery stockers are well-familiar with the sight:  random empty boxes that are the hidden leftovers to stolen goods.  Cold medicine.  Hair coloring.  Condoms.  Diapers. Candy.

A couple days ago I found a different wrapper stuffed behind the tidy stacks of soap bars, a small cylinder of fish food, with the plastic lid missing and the foil seal compromised.  About a teaspoon of flakes were gone.

I showed it off to my coworker, Becky.  “Don’t you just hate it when those damn goldfish come into the store and steal things?!”

7 Comments

  1. 14 December 2009 at 1:39

    […] be them Bad Goldfish again,” I mumbled to myself.   Apparently they thought you could peel taters with a […]

  2. diddums said,

    4 December 2009 at 12:00

    My mother once bought a small bottle of juice… she realized upon looking at it at home that someone had taken a swig of it, as the juice level was a little lower and the seal was broken. I think they do it just to annoy… probably kids.

  3. andrea said,

    23 November 2009 at 2:15

    Only if they are Goldfish crackers! :D

  4. kathleen said,

    21 November 2009 at 1:53

    sometimes I find half empty packages hidden in odd places at home((usually snack food)..Do you think the goldfish are responsible for this as well? :)

  5. Überfugg said,

    13 November 2009 at 2:43

    Surreal: “Every once in a while I find a half-empty package of something that we don’t even sell at my store.”

  6. Fledchen said,

    13 November 2009 at 1:21

    We get a lot of those kind of thefts at my store, too. I work at a fuel station/convenience store.

    I’ve tried to figure out why people do it that way. Do they think it’s not really stealing if they leave some of the product still in the package? Or is it because the contents of the package are easier to hide than an entire package would be?

    Every once in a while I find a half-empty package of something that we don’t even sell at my store.


Leave a Reply

