Sound check

“Testing, 1, 2, 3 …”

Hooray, I got my MacBook back from the shop!  It would completely lose the wireless signal two meters from the router, and kept getting hot.  Due to teaching commitments, I wasn’t able to take it in until now, just a couple weeks before the AppleCare programme expired.  Lessee … they replaced the main logic board, battery, top case, heatsink, fan, and airport (wireless) card.  Essentially, I have a nearly-new computer inside my old case.  (Yes, it’s my old case, with the spider sticker on top.)  So even though the warranty will expire soon, my computer ought to hang in there for quite a while longer.

Now I can finally get blogging again.

But meanwhile, let’s do a sound check to see if there’s anyone out there still … roll call!

Q.:  What’s your least favorite Ohrwurm?  (song that gets stuck in your head)

Sugar, Sugar … Billy don’t be a hero … Who let the dogs out … It’s a small world after all … that WHOOMP thing they play at ball games …

7 Comments

  1. fridawrites said,

    19 October 2009 at 14:39

    I had to think about this for a few days since I was blessed enough not to have any stuck in my head for a bit, but I’ll say the worst are from kids’ shows, like the Hannah Montana songs, especially the love song she writes and sings in a couple of episodes. High School Musical songs. “I’m a Goofy Goober” from SpongeBob. Some songs that get stuck in my head I like.

  2. Club 166 said,

    17 October 2009 at 11:53

    “Billy don’t be a hero”-Arrrrgh. Now that will be playing in my head all day.

    How about “You’ve got a brand new pair of roller skates, I’ve got a brand new key”.

    Joe

  3. Phil Schwarz said,

    17 October 2009 at 2:43

    “Korobeiniki” — the musical accompaniment to the video game Tetris…

    FWIW, my one and only introduction to Rolf Harris was “The Court of King Caractacus”, from a recording of the 1968 New Year’s Eve edition of WFMT-Chicago’s “The Midnight Special” (of which I became a fan when I was in college in Chicago in the mid-1970s).

  4. Suzanne said,

    16 October 2009 at 9:37

    “I’m too sexy for my …”

    I love “two little boys” by Rolf Harris.

    • Anne said,

      17 October 2009 at 0:43

      Macho Man
      If I Only Had a Brain
      Twist Barbie (no wait, I actually like that one)

  5. dkmnow said,

    16 October 2009 at 8:48

    Dunno that I could pick a least favorite, given that the playlist is so, um, “rich and fertile.” OTOH, having practiced quasi-Buddhist mind-training/meditation techniques for more than ten years now, I find I have cultivated considerable immunity to the more pernicious species of earworm.

  6. 16 October 2009 at 8:39

    ‘Two little boys’ by Rolf Harris, but I’m hoping you’ve never heard of it: that it never escaped from our shores, I would hate to think we inflicted it on anyone else in the known universe.


Leave a Reply

