The absurd list

So, it’s the Last Big Push before the end of the semester — this “holiday” weekend I have to write 4 exams, make up three teaching presentations, and grade the latest set of exams and various assignments. (Oh, and send out a couple of job apps, soon as I can squeeze them in.  They’re really long shots, but “if you don’t ask, you don’t get”.)

In another 10 days or so I’ll be done with teaching classes this semester, and can focus on other things in life, like finishing my family cookbook, finish a quilt, a dozen home repairs, sorting out the basement storage area, tidying up the gardening stuff around the patio, organising my seed-starting and cleaning up my gardening tools, removing rampant garden volunteers, yadda-yadda-yadda.  Basically, everything in life that has been put on “hold” since I started working 60-50 hours per week in September.

But I thought it would fun to post the Absurd List.  You know, those things you would love to have, but would never be able to get short of a weird twist of fate.

A retired London Underground subway car recycled as an office.

Or maybe the ultimate treehouse, the “free spirit sphere”.  Of course, we don’t have the trees for such, but details, details…

What with the severe ice storms and extremes of hot and cold, few structures are quite so problematic in my climate as a fancy glasshouse. But as we know, plant-lust is an incurable condition that leaves us fondling seed-packets during the dark, short days of the year.  Our kitchen window by the table is the sunniest place in the house, so it’s hosting a small jungle of plants for the next half a year.

Of course, I wouldn’t want to be selfish, so I’d get a hot tub to put in a sunroom or somewhere.  All of us love a good soak in hot water, especially in the winter.

Ah well … back to my preps.

What’s on your Absurd List?

3 Comments

  1. Ettina said,

    2 December 2008 at 20:48

    They have the right kind of trees for free spirit spheres in BC.

  2. Justthisguy said,

    1 December 2008 at 4:22

    I don’t understand why people buy bizjets. The airplane on my absurd list would be a civilly certified Lockheed Hercules, with a lifetime supply of fuel, maintenance, and salaries for crew. I could put my truck and boat in the back. I could bolt lawn chairs to the ramp, and fly along a coupla thousand feet up sitting on the back porch and drinking beer.

    I would also need a Grumman Albatross…

  3. 30 November 2008 at 19:53

    When I was a kid, my Absurd List was way cooler than it is today.

    1. My own wilderness preserve upon which to house endangered plants and animals.

    2. A swimming pool on said property vast and deep enough to house a pod of humpback whales.

    3. A house big enough to have a room to decorate in each artistic, historical, or cultural style that I fancied.

    Nowadays, my Absurd List involves me obtaining: (1) a contractor’s license and the knowhow to completely fix up a house ALL BY MYSELF, (2) enough money to completely fix up my house, and (3) enough car knowledge that I could fix my own vehicles whenever they had problems! :)


Leave a Reply

