“Mama said,

‘There’ll be days like this,’

‘There’ll be days like this,’ Mama said.”

The Shirelles, “Mama Said”

Coming down with some virus most likely, as the school nurse says it doesn’t look like strep throat (despite the sore throat that’s making it hard to lecture).  I can deal with that.

Headache, only ’bout a 4 out of 10, not so bad of itself. I can deal with that.

Ditto the tinnitus, which alas, seems to be making it more difficult to understand people, especially those students more than a few feet away from me, which is most of the time — why do the most soft-spoken students sit in the back corner?  The auditory processing glitches don’t help, either; I’m sure some of the students think I’m not paying attention, or am losing my hearing.  At least no one is going around yelling to me in the mistaken impression that volume = clarity.

Five hours sleep.  Definitely need to get to sleep sooner, and I would were it not for the class prep I have to do before and after classes.  Okay, now it’s getting really challenging.  I’m dropping words in the middle of my sentences once or twice an hour, and does that ever make me feel stupid.

I’m hungry because I didn’t eat much due to the sore throat & canker sore.

Two of the pieces of paper I really needed to have with me were not in my binder.  No, I’m sorry, I don’t remember the date of the next exam right off the top of my head.  No, I’m sorry, I haven’t memorized the ID labels to all of the slides (but I can tell you what’s important about the slide).

We were reviewing the results of the first exam.  This is the first college-level science class that many of the students have had, and some of them haven’t had a science class in years.  Bumpy ride.  It’s also the first full exam I have written, and every teacher knows the hidden hazards of writing such.

For some reason I decided to hand the graded exams out, rather than just letting the students pick their own test up.  I’m faceblind, and have not yet memorized the seating chart.  Definite planning error on my part.

My PowerPoint — that delightful gizmo that helps keep the tired, the distracted, the forgetful, the sick, and the first-time teacher from losing track of the game plan — the PowerPoint file on my flashdrive proved to be an older version that did not have the other half of the slides I needed to remind me what I was going to tell the class this evening. That too, of itself I could deal with, although the presentation was not at smooth as I would have liked, and we had to go back a few times and fill in something I had not mentioned earlier.

But all of these things together, oy vey!  I muddled through everything, but did not feel very brilliant or smooth.  I didn’t even have all of the lab equipment fully prepped because I had rushed in right before class.

And then shortly after class started, one of the professors came in to do a surprise Observation of me as a new instructor.

At least I didn’t have my trouser zip left undone, or have a strip of toilet paper (loo roll) stuck to my boot!

Mama said there’ll be days like this …

6 Comments

  1. 12 October 2008 at 14:09

    […] Autism/Asperger’s, Prosopagnosia, Teaching/Tutoring, Tinnitus, eye contact) So, recently I was observed while teaching an evening class, and a couple weeks later had the opportunity to meet and discuss the […]

  2. Greg said,

    28 August 2008 at 20:25

    sounds like a very long bad day, hang in there and feel better soon!

  3. excavator said,

    28 August 2008 at 16:57

    Just dropping by to cheer you on. This is a jaw-dropping high-wire act you’ve got going. I’m so sorry you’re not physically feeling well in addition. Hopefully this will be the last of these days

  4. Bug Girl said,

    28 August 2008 at 14:22

    It always gets better as you go. And the first year of college teaching is brutal.

    Students know when you care about them, though, and that gets you through a lot of mishaps.

    And at least a cow didn’t lick you in the armpit on the first day of class, like me :D

  5. Osh said,

    28 August 2008 at 7:24

    You have my respect!

  6. speakingaut said,

    28 August 2008 at 5:44

    Ouch. Rough day. But it’s over, and you’re still here, and that means you won!

    (Interesting song choice, by the way. I’d probably have done “Nobody Told Me,” by John Lennon. But maybe that’s only because you got it stuck in my head… :p )


Leave a Reply

