When smart people are stupid

So I’m getting the first day of class materials organised, and looking at the online class Web application.  The instructor and students can both use it for sharing documents, so tomorrow I will have to demonstrate to the students how to access the program, and where I will put files for them. The instructor can also use it to record grades and attendance.

I look at the roster, noting that there are two guys with the same common first name,

Robert

Robert

But otherwise nothing potentially problematic until I come across an unfamiliar name.  Bulgarian, maybe?  Slovak?

Demo

I then look at the family name,

Student

Oh, duh!

_____________

* Maybe Demo is related to the statistician who came up with the Student’s t-distribution test   /joke

4 Comments

  1. speakingaut said,

    14 August 2008 at 15:38

    Aaah, thanks. I’ll not bug them, then. I kind of figured it was something like that, but just wanted to be sure.

    :)

  2. qw88nb88 said,

    14 August 2008 at 11:47

    Speakingaut,

    If I recall correctly, it took them a few weeks to get back to me — it really depends on how many things are going on at the time. This is all volunteer, and several people in different countries are coördinating things.

    andrea

  3. Suzanne said,

    14 August 2008 at 5:06

    D’Emo?

  4. speakingaut said,

    14 August 2008 at 5:04

    Hahah. I do stuff like that all the time.

    In France once, I passed by about six or seven cars in a row that had “F” stickers on the back (indicating French registration) and went “My, there sure are a lot of Finnish people in this part of Paris.”

    In my defense, I was horribly jet-lagged at the time. Not that it’s much of a defense.

    (Also, and this is unrelated to your original post, how long was it between the time you applied to join the Hub and the time you got in? I applied not long after my blog was created, and I haven’t heard back yet.)


Leave a Reply

