The War On … Idiotic Metaphors

I think that ’bout sums it up.

12 Comments

  1. Justthisguy said,

    15 August 2008 at 2:55

    CS, I voted for W twice, but NOT because I wanted him for President. I live in Florida and knew it would be close, both in 2000 and 2004. I knew how the electoral college worked, and gritted teeth and held nose, metaphorically speaking, and voted for the smaller curculio, or the lesser of two weevils.

    Most of the people with whom I correspond on the Internet are discussing just how much we’ll have to drink, how hard we’ll have to grit our teeth, how tightly we’ll have to hold our noses, when casting a ballot for McCain.

    Or, as the bumper sticker has it: “I love my country more than I despise John McCain!”

    I would do any lawful thing to keep Barak The Man with no Middle Name Obama from becoming President

  2. qw88nb88 said,

    14 August 2008 at 21:34

    Ettina,
    Tongue-in-cheek, of course!
    andrea

  3. Ettina said,

    14 August 2008 at 16:05

    Oh, so you’re declaring war on idiotic metaphors!
    My mother and I are hoping to do a thing for the Association for Research on Mothering conference about the ‘war on autism’. Their topic for this conference is ‘mothering and war’.

  4. qw88nb88 said,

    14 August 2008 at 1:45

    Ettina,
    In the US, a lot of social/political efforts of late have been styled, “The War On…”:
    “The War On Drugs”, “The War On Terrorism” et cetera. It has become a rather tired cliché, especially when applied to situations where the “war” phrasing is not especially suitable.
    andrea

  5. Ettina said,

    13 August 2008 at 15:48

    I don’t get it.

  6. qw88nb88 said,

    13 August 2008 at 3:02

    Saydrah,

    You’re not the only one who thought it was Wednesday … the kid was all set to do some raiding on World Of Warcraft, only to discover that it’s Tuesday.

    I’m glad it’s only Tuesday — I have two syllabi to finish tonight!

    andrea

  7. saydrah said,

    12 August 2008 at 20:23

    I think I need another cup of coffee. It took me about 15 minutes to realize it’s not Wednesday, and therefore I am not waiting for a picture to load in order to get the full impact of this post!

    And yes, I agree, once I GOT it… it about sums things up.

  8. CS said,

    12 August 2008 at 10:33

    Justthisguy,

    Maybe our new leader will “look into his eyes and know his soul and determine he is a good man” and call him Putie, like our current one?

  9. 12 August 2008 at 10:33

    What about metaphoric idioms?

    or ideolectic dyscourse :)

    As for the war in Georgia, I guess the US will not want to see Atlanta go with the wind this time, I think it will become another war by proxy, as when the Russians invaded Afghanistan, and we all know where that got us :(

  10. Justthisguy said,

    12 August 2008 at 9:12

    ‘specially seeing that there is an actual war on, over in Georgia. One side of which war has Vlad Putin, and lotsa nukes. I really do think that if we elect the O-hole, and he has to face Putin personally, he’ll wet his pants. Not that the Naval Angriator would do much better; he’d prolly just get all apoplectic and drop dead from anger on the spot.

    Weep for The Republic.

  11. Steve D said,

    12 August 2008 at 4:42

    Agreed.

  12. 12 August 2008 at 2:57

    Yup….


Leave a Reply

