I need better sleep:

I microwaved a bowl of salad.

8 Comments

  1. qw88nb88 said,

    17 June 2008 at 21:41

    … In like vein, I have found that the remote door-unlock button on my car key does not open my front door!

    There were days at school when we wished the Mute button to the TV-VHS-DVD worked on the some of our students …

    andrea

  2. 17 June 2008 at 11:31

    I read some news article once (must have been on a slow news day or something) where they talked to people who work at post offices and found that they find people’s bag lunches sitting in mail boxes all the time. Seems that there’s always someone pretty much every week who inattentively puts their lunch into the mail box instead of the mail that they’re holding in their other hand.

    Apparently people sometimes put more valuable things in there by mistake too, then they call the post office in a panic to get assistance in rescuing it.

    Okay, this does nothing to help salvage your salad, but thought you’d like to know ;-)

    Oh, and when I was in college, I often showed my room keys to the cafeteria lady to get into the cafeteria instead of the school id that I was supposed to display. Once, the cafeteria lady said I was the third person to do the same thing in the past half hour!

    And, today, I sometimes try to wave my magnetic work id over the sensor thingy to enter the metro system instead of using my magnetic fare card! And naturally that doesn’t work!

  3. LisaDroesdov said,

    16 June 2008 at 22:57

    This literally made me laugh out loud. That’s great. I found my SO’s sunglasses in the refrigerator recently.

  4. Emily said,

    16 June 2008 at 20:53

    Ouch! Gotta love running on autopilot and not even realizing what you’re doing. Hope you get some better sleep soon.

  5. 16 June 2008 at 19:37

    *snort.

    I have to say, word for word, i got a bigger kick out of this line than anything I’ve read in a long time.

  6. qw88nb88 said,

    16 June 2008 at 15:57

    uphilldowndale:
    I’m sure your garden is very fruitigenic!

    Norah,
    The leftover salad was in one of the bowls we use for microwaving, so I took it out of the fridge, set it on the counter to get the orange juice out, poured the juice and returned the carton to the fridge, and then (apparently running on autopilot) stuck the bowl in the microwave for a minute. The salad already had dressing on it, so the tender baby leaf lettuces ended up braised and soupy, which is less than tasty, unlike pan-wilted greens.

    andrea

  7. Norah said,

    16 June 2008 at 6:52

    I cannot contain my curiosity on this one: could you please describe what happened to it or what it looked like afterwards? :D

  8. 16 June 2008 at 5:49

    LOL, I put my camera in the fruit bowl the other day and headed for the door with a bunch of bananas in my hand.


Leave a Reply

