Remembering to Remember to Remember to …

I went and drew the bath. When the tub was full, I took off my pyjama top, and realised that I had forgotten my towel.

I fetched the towel and then realised that I meant to mow first before bathing.

Shut the bathroom door to keep the heat in, I went and changed into gardening clothes. Unplugged the mower from the charger, got one strip done, and then realised that I had forgotten to put on the bag — I wanted to bag the grass clippings to use them for mulching the vegetable garden.

Fetched the bag and put it on the mower. Mowed several strips, enough to have filled the bag, and then found out that I had forgotten to remove the chute block that lets the grass into the bag.

At this point, I realised there was a trend: I kept forgetting things, including the planning-ahead bits. Oh, yeah — I forgot to take my medicine this morning, including my ADHD med.

Usually I try to put my pillbox atop my MacBook when I go to bed, to remind myself the next morning to take my medicine promptly.

But that requires remembering.

4 Comments

  1. ange said,

    13 June 2008 at 17:44

    I do reminder things, but forget to look at them (like write everything on the calendar, but forget to look at ti first thing in the morning). I am always in a cstate of procrastination (I’ll do that, but 1st I have to do this) so I am always forgetting the item I think I am committing to memory to get to next. And I skip ahead, then I forget to do the thing I skipped over. I din’t get like this until I quit my fulltime job. Apparently I could function very well in a cube with e-amil/electronic calendar… Not so well outside of that environment!

  2. greg said,

    12 June 2008 at 22:27

    I set my alarm on my cell phone to take my meds

  3. Emily said,

    12 June 2008 at 16:45

    I’m so bad at remembering things! I usually have to use post-it notes to remind myself to do things, otherwise I will completely forget.

    Anyways, I just came across your blog and look forward to reading more posts!

  4. Catana said,

    11 June 2008 at 22:48

    So familiar. The hardest part of ADD is remembering to remember the reminders.


Leave a Reply

