Leaks

Last ngiht I had an absolutely BRILL idea for a blog post. Even came up with a catchy title. Thought it would be a good way to remember it. Didn’t write it down, owing to having finally warmed up my spot on the bed and it being past midnight, so I didn’t want to climb out of bed and grope around in the cold and dark for writing materials.

And, then of course the next morning I couldn’t remember it. Still by evening I can’t remember it. The idea seems to have leaked out my ears during the night. So it goes. Maybe it’ll come back to me — this time, I’ve a pencil and paper at bedside.

Meanwhile, here’s a lovely little Minuscule vid that I’d not seen before. It’s part of an animation series done in France, short little stories with natural scenery and computer-modeled invertebrates (insects, spiders and snails). The funny stories have no dialog, just some light background music and humorous sound effects. (No captions needed.) The physics are just spot-on, too, with only slight exaggerations for effect.

This one has a fuzzy black house spider that has taken up residence in the kitchen of a country house. Alas, the sink drips, drips, drips. The sound clips we get from the spider’s perspective sound horribly loud … maybe it has hyperacussis.

Anyway, enjoy the story as our protagonist seeks to create some “Silence”:

10 Comments

  1. qw88nb88 said,

    22 March 2008 at 5:07

    Bother! Apparently there are FOUR Minuscule DVDs, but they are all Zone-2 coded.

    ::bummed::

    andrea

  2. qw88nb88 said,

    9 March 2008 at 20:49

    Bug Girl,
    But won’t a French DVD have the wrong region coding to play on an American DVD player? Most European DVDs are Region 2, whereas the average American DVD player performs those with Region 1 coding.

    OTOH, according to Wikipedia, older computer DVD players will work on all zones, but the newer ones won’t. Hmn…

    :: sigh :: Minuscule DVD [want]

    andrea

  3. Bug Girl said,

    9 March 2008 at 20:12

    oh! new minuscule! :D
    I must get a friend in france to buy that DVD set for me…..

  4. qw88nb88 said,

    8 March 2008 at 4:03

    Shiva,
    I have a “slushpile” of over a dozen half-started posts. Sometimes the post page just has a few hyperlinks to stories that I want to comment upon, a few pithy sentences or clever turns of phrase, or a meandering string of paragraphs that were simply not going to get knocked into shape that day, no-way no-how.

    Sometimes they sit there in the post-draft queue of the blog dashboard for weeks (even a few months) until things gel up, or I figure out what-all I want to say. But having a bunch of things in there sure is a lot better than having them evaporate for all eternity …

    I also like your idea of a “meta-blog” blog post!

    andrea

  5. gracie said,

    7 March 2008 at 8:50

    LOVE the little movie!!!

  6. shiva said,

    7 March 2008 at 3:04

    You have absolutely NO idea just how often that happens to me. I would probably have 2 or 3 times as many blog posts as i have if i actually posted all the ones i think up, try to memorise the best lines of, then somehow never have the energy to actually write. Or start writing, then can’t focus because i’ve forgotten bits and in trying to “recover” them ramble on at a dozen different tangents then think “shit, i’ve written 2000 words and not got anywhere near my intended point”, and give up.

    Maybe i should actually blog about the crap in my head that frustrates my attempts to blog. That would be… kind of “meta”…

  7. 7 March 2008 at 2:26

    A repetitive noise like that can get me completely wound up :S

  8. LisaDroesdov said,

    6 March 2008 at 16:52

    Poor fuzzy little guy!

  9. Catana said,

    6 March 2008 at 15:14

    Poor little spider. I have days like that. And nights.

    I try to keep a little notebook and a pen by the bed. I’ve had too many great ideas leak away. Sometimes they come back, but mostly they’re lost forever.

  10. Suzanne said,

    6 March 2008 at 14:59

    nifty little film.


Leave a Reply

