I’m not very “hopefuller”

This is why I don’t read the morning news in depth. It’s bad for the happy digestion of my breakfast, and would endanger the computer screen from being hit by coffee-spew. (I save reading the news for evening, after practicing my equanimity by being surrounded by students with emotional & behavioural issues.)

Recent comment made by the president regarding the No Child Left Behind Act:

“As yesterday’s positive report card shows, childrens do learn when standards are high and results are measured.”
~George W. Bush, Sept. 26, 2007

Just in case you missed some earlier Bushisms (also known as, “why I generally don’t watch news on television”):

“Rarely is the questioned asked: Is our children learning?”
~George W. Bush, Jan. 11, 2000

“You teach a child to read, and he or her will be able to pass a literacy test.”
~George W. Bush, Feb. 21, 2001

“Then you wake up at the high school level and find out that the illiteracy level of our children are appalling.”
~George W. Bush, Jan. 23, 2004

“As Luce reminded me, he said, without data, without facts, without information, the discussions about public education mean that a person is just another opinion.”
~George W. Bush, Sept. 9, 2003

“The public education system in America is one of the most important foundations of our democracy. After all, it is where children from all over America learn to be responsible citizens, and learn to have the skills necessary to take advantage of our fantastic opportunistic society.”
~George W. Bush, May 1, 2002

“I want it to be said that the Bush administration was a results-oriented administration, because I believe the results of focusing our attention and energy on teaching children to read and having an education system that’s responsive to the child and to the parents, as opposed to mired in a system that refuses to change, will make America what we want it to be—a literate country and a hopefuller country.”
~George W. Bush, Jan. 11, 2001

“As governor of Texas, I have set high standards for our public schools, and I have met those standards.”
~George W. Bush, Aug. 30, 2000

:: headdesk ::

5 Comments

  1. Club 166 said,

    27 October 2007 at 12:32

    The following isn’t meant to be a slam on you, Andrea, just food for thought for all of us (myself included). While I am not a rabid Bush supporter, I am also not one who actively hates him.

    One thing I am is a person who has come to feel uncomfortable when I hear other people making fun of his syntext and grammar. I think that Bush has a speech problem which comes out when he is speaking extemporaneously.

    I used to laugh all the time at “Bushisms” (and sometimes still do). It’s just that after listening to my son have great difficulty with language, I can imagine a time when my son would be in the public sphere, and people would be judging him on how he said something, rather than what he meant.

    Joe

  2. Casdok said,

    27 October 2007 at 11:11

    I have to have breaks from the news.

  3. qw88nb88 said,

    27 October 2007 at 0:33

    Well Patrick, we do if you’re also in the U.S. …

  4. Mike Stanton said,

    26 October 2007 at 21:48

    “As yesterday’s positive report card shows, childrens do learn when standards are high and results are measured.”

    We have this in the UK. It is like saying we can raise the temperature by installing thermometers.

  5. Patrick said,

    26 October 2007 at 19:03

    I really don’t think those high standards have been met if all of these quotes are indeed true. Oh please don’t tell me we have a grammatical nightmare acting as commander in need of relief?


Leave a Reply

