The pleasure of your company is requested

Zephyr’s getting the Disability Blog Carnival #19 set up over at Arthritic Young Thing, and it promises to be exciting because it’s about SEX!

So wow, I get to follow that. That’s about as great a slot as getting to do an hour-long presentation in a warm, dark auditorium right after lunch when the audience is stuffed full of turkey sandwiches (ooh, tryptophan, zzzz…) Hey, I’ve done that gig. And I tripped spectacularly en route to the lectern (tripping over nothing, because I’m just so talented that way). And then the AV equipment didn’t work at first. And I was coming down with the flu. But public speaking is still theatre of sorts, and I joke about my clumsiness and the malfunctioning equipment (“This stuff never happens to you all, right?”) and the show goes on, because this is What We Do. They even laughed at the jokes, bless them.

But it’s time to take a break from work! I selected “On Holiday” (on vacation) for my Disability Blog Carnival theme, as it’s during August, the traditional vacation month here in the Northern Hemisphere. I thought it’d be nice to host a lovely event out in the butterfly garden. There will be some lovely refreshments (no Cricket Crunch, unless there’s a request), and of course the food will be labelled for allergens. We’ll be hanging out around the patio with the tropical foliage, so you won’t be surrounded by pollen or my friends the bees unless you want to venture further out. Plenty of seating has been arranged for those “chair-impaired” folks who don’t travel with their own, including a bunch of gliders for those of us who like to sit and rock. Fortunately this is an “off” year for the big cicadas, so we’ll be able to hear the stories easily, and arrangements have been made for interpreters.

Lessee… anything else? Oh yeah! I printed up tickets, so you have something to stick on the fridge (because I don’t know about you, but I’m terrible at remembering the particulars for events).

Image Description: A pre-printed event ticket in various shades of green, with the following notable fields:
Section/Aisle: YD (meaning, Yard)
Row/Box: GA (meaning, General Admission)
All applicable: ALL AGES
Price: $20.00
Accessible Admit
Ticket title reads:
ANDREA’S BUZZING ABOUT
DISABILITY BLOG CARNIVAL
W/ FREE REFRESHMENTS
BUTTERFLY GARDENS
INTERPRETERS AVAILABLE
THU 9 AUG 2007 12:00AM

Send in your submissions for the carnival here; deadline is the sixth of August, that’s a Monday. I’m so looking forward to the stories!

 

9 Comments

  1. qw88nb88 said,

    4 August 2007 at 11:38

    I’m looking forward to your posts!

    I’ve been getting things ready for the Carnival inbetween errands-running and wall-painting.

  2. 4 August 2007 at 8:06

    […] is translated to mean “On Vacation” for us American folks…it’s hosted by Andrea and look at the adorable ticket she made inviting YOU all to […]

  3. Kara said,

    4 August 2007 at 5:16

    I LOVE this ticket-posting it on my blog…it’ll actually be up tomorrow morning. I like to give the illusion that I’m up and posting at 8am when really I’m fast asleep…heehee! Gonna work on my entry this weekend too-can’t wait!

  4. 30 July 2007 at 20:12

    I will be there with my prettiest of dresses on :)

  5. qw88nb88 said,

    30 July 2007 at 20:05

    Will do Astrid, thank you!

  6. Astrid said,

    30 July 2007 at 19:10

    HI Andra, will you conside rmy post for the carnival? It’s at http://astridvanwoerkom.wordpress.com/2007/07/30/vacation-and-disability-my-challenges/. I can’t submit it over at the carnival website cause they still use word verificaiton if you want to submit a post and I haven’t been able to figure out how to work around it.

  7. qw88nb88 said,

    29 July 2007 at 16:50

    Oh Connie, do dress up! There’s nothing like a right smashing hat to top off the perfect outfit. Doubt that HRH will be there, but QueenBee will be there, if that’s good enough for you.

  8. Connie said,

    29 July 2007 at 10:08

    Oh, I DO hope this is a dressy affair. It’s been a while since I’ve had an occasion to wear my finest – since I missed the Derby this year. Will The Queen be there?

    We look forward to the date!

  9. Sally said,

    28 July 2007 at 17:29

    “…. chair-impaired folks, who don’t travel with their own …”

    Every one is a gem.
    Now, to stick that ticket in my Filofax.
    Thank you.


Leave a Reply

