Five Weird Things

Meme-tag time. Given the incredible variety of unusual data shared by other AutismHub responders, it was hard to come up with stuff that would be considered “weird”.

I can wiggle my ears. They used to be kinda pointy, though not as pointy as aspie kid’s were. I feel a bit annoyed at the fact that my ear shape has “normalised” over time.

The only sport I ever got into was fencing. I’m not much good at it, as I have to slowly acquire one skill at a time, so my responses are entirely synthetic. On the other hand, there is a slight advantage to being a lefty fencer. It’s also vastly improved my sense of safe personal space, which is handy in my para job working with emotional & behavior disorder students. (No, I don’t go after them with sticks; the only time I’ve beaten any of the students is in chess games.)

My pet tarantula is named Rosie; she’s copper-colored, fluffy, and about 10 cm / 4 in long. She lives in a terantularium a couple feet away from my laptop. Hmn, maybe this doesn’t count as weird, merely uncommon. Trying again.

When making quilts, I used to listen to heavy metal. Actually, I don’t find that terribly odd, but at the time the kids claimed it was. I say “used to” because I’ve not had much time to work on quilts what with teaching classes, taking classes, and working a couple of jobs. (You’re shocked, I’m sure.) I also listen to jazz, blues, rock, classic and miscellaneous stuff, but no rap or twangy country. I’m musically synæsthetic, which is kind of like having a permanent Fantasia show if I close my eyes. Actually, that last part is probably the weird thing.

The only dancing I have ever had any skill at is bellydancing, because I don’t have to move my feet around. Bilateral coordination with both legs and arms has always been a challenge. However, being double-jointed was useful in this pursuit. Hmn, this is probably a not-so-weird item; this quiz is harder than I thought! Okay, one of the reasons why I’ve not done any dancing in a long time is that none of my stuff fits. Both times I had a child, I dropped a dress size postpartum. Due to that and other stuff, I was a size 12 when I got married, and am now a size 4. Apparently this is a very unusual thing to do, so I’ll stick with that.

I have a 3D CAD-like function in my head, and blew the lid off the block test score on my WAIS. I can fit more stuff into the dishwasher or a packing carton than anyone else I know. Not surprisingly, I really dig puzzles and construction sets. During insomniac nights, I mentally redesign gadgets to make them more user-friendly.

I think I’ll stick to my usual essays; they’re much easier to write.

6 Comments

  1. 17 July 2007 at 4:29

    […] hours of the morning, I realised that this list was going to be difficult, having already done the Five Weird Things meme. But then I had an idea — a wild idea — a wild, wee-hours idea that unlike most […]

  2. Julia said,

    20 August 2006 at 6:43

    I agree that the dishwasher-loading challenge would depend on the individual’s familiarity with the rack tine formation — we got a new one with a somewhat different rack tine configuration recently and it took me about a month to get back up to my usual efficiency in loading.

    I, too, liked the “quilting to heavy metal” one. :)

  3. Do'C said,

    19 August 2006 at 22:51

    I agree 100%. Efficient loading, proper cleaning, and an ability to add dishes that don’t look like they would ever fit in a million years, all without negatively impacting the wash quality count. Now unloading and putting away, there’s a tedious task.

  4. qw88nb88 said,

    19 August 2006 at 11:00

    I suspect the dishwasher-loading challenge results would depend heavily upon an individual’s familiary with the particular rack tine formation, and the dishes being inserted. My own DW loading preferences focus around getting everything sufficiently exposed to the washing elements, not just cramming in the maximum number of dishes; I really hate having to chip off grunge missed by the machine!

  5. Do'C said,

    19 August 2006 at 10:31

    Hi Andrea,

    I’m typcially not competitive, but should we ever meet, I’m ready for the dishwasher loading challenge. Perhaps we would tie. :)

  6. Autiemom said,

    18 August 2006 at 8:15

    “When making quilts, I used to listen to heavy metal.”

    That one’s my favorite :)


Leave a Reply

